Your cart
Close Alternative Icon


What should I know about Diamonds?

Arrow Thin Left Icon Arrow Thin Right Icon

Everyone loves diamonds, and what's not to love? Diamonds symbolise love and every diamond is unique. 

All diamonds, natural and laboratory grown (LG) are graded according to the same criteria; Carat, Clarity, Colour and Cut. Otherwise known as the 4 C's

Carat: Diamond weight is measured in carats. 1 carat equals 0.2grams. A carat is further subdivided into 100 points. 0.50ct = 1/2 carat = 50 points. While weight is an obvious factor in determining the value of a diamond, two diamonds of equal weight may have very unequal values, depending on their quality.

Clarity: Most diamonds will have tiny marks, known as inclusions. These imperfections make each stone unique. They don't weaken the stone or affect its beauty, however the fewer and smaller the inclusions, the greater the value of the stone. Diamonds are graded using the International Clarity Grading Scale. Depending on your preference, you may choose a diamond of lower clarity and better colour or larger size, or vice versa.

Colour: While seen alone, diamonds may appear white, but most have a hint of colour - mainly yellow. The closer the stones are to having no trace of colour, the more rare and valuable they become. Also rare and valuable are diamonds known as 'fancies' - that have a strong, pure colour, such as the pink, cognac and champagne coloured diamonds produced by the Argyle Mine in Australia. Diamonds are graded according to the International Colour Grading Scale - with the colourless grade of D being the most valuable.

Cut: It is the skill of the cutter that unlocks the natural beauty of the diamond and highlights it's brilliance. Cut refers to the proportions, symmetry and finish or make, of the diamond. On average, each stone loses more than half it's original weight during cutting and polishing. Proportions and angles influence the internal reflection of light as well as the dispersion of light leaving the diamond - determining the brilliance and fire of the diamond. Cut also refers to the shape, which is determined by individual taste. There are many different shapes available - the Round Brilliant is the most traditional shape, but there are also Emerald, Square, Princess, Pear, Marquise and other fancy cuts.

Recent posts
Coloured Gemstones
Why Does Gold Leave a Black Mark on My Skin?
What should I know about Diamonds?